Surly Cross Check Frame for Touring

As I was riding today, I was reminded if a recent thread on Bike Forums about touring on a Surly Cross Check. The conversation inevitably turned to heel clearance due to the short geometry. I chose the CC over the Long Haul Trucker because I wanted geometry close to a road bike; one on which I could ride daily for commuting or fitness yet slap the racks on and tour.

I’m 5’10” and 175-180 lbs. (depending on the time of year). I’m using a Tubus Vega rack with Ortlieb Back Roller Classics and I have about 3 in. of clearance at closest approach.

20130416-141111.jpg

You can see from the next photo that I’ve got the Ortliebs slid all the way to the rear.

20130416-141239.jpg

This entry was posted in Cycling Equipment, Touring. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

