ECBT – Leg 4

We got an early start today to try to beat the heat. We’re both a bit sunburned so we wanted to ge the bulk of our riding done by lunch. I woke a few minutes before 6 and immediately got to it. I warmed up a pot of my touring breakfast drink of champions (pat. pend.) while packing everything away. I didn’t take time to eat breakfast.

Dauphin Island is very small so we were hitting the causeway and bridges within 2.5 miles.

20130417-121631.jpg

Once over the highest part, we were hit with a lot of crosswind blowing west across Mobile Bay. In fact, I probably used more energy there than any other point in this trip so far. I was in a bit of a rush because I was late for my morning conference calls. Once on the mainland, we stopped to take our calls.

20130417-121951.jpg

We stopped for a snack and drink in Coden, AL; about 18 miles in. My stomach was griping about missing breakfast. Looking at this place, I was expecting to hear banjos, but I don’t think music has reached this place yet. They are some serious Crimson Tide fans, though. Te Crimson Tide logo is everywhere. Some old man asked where we were going. I told him, “A little town called New Orleans. I thinks it’s about 10 miles down on the left, right?” He got a kick out of that. He left before us, but he was making several stops along our route so we saw him two or three times more and he waved each time.

Next up is world-famous Bayou le Batre where Bubba from Forrest Gump came from. “You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That- that’s about it.”

20130417-122559.jpg

I think we hit Mississippi about 30 miles into the ride and stopped for the obligatory photo op.

20130417-122822.jpg

We’ve stopped for lunch and groceries in Pascagoula right now. We’re about 41 miles in with 8 miles or so to go to Shepard State Park. It looks like it is pretty remote so we’re shopping here. Till later, y’all.

This entry was posted in ECBT, Touring. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

