Packing for Thunderhead Training Hike

Ok. I know it’s just a day hike and it is overkill to worry about what food I carry on a day hike. Just remember two things: 1) I’m a cyclist and I’m not a backpacker and 2) I’m working out my food strategy for my upcoming Grand Canyon Backpacking Tour. Besides, when it comes to things like this, I always overplan. Since we’ve agreed to meet having had breakfast, we’ll only need lunch plus morning and afternoon snacks. So, I’m really only testing out my lunch strategy for GCBT.

Thunderhead Food Pack

Thunderhead Food Pack


Simply put, lunch stragegy consists of flatbread, beef sausage, peanut butter, and honey. I plan one sandwich of beef sausage, mayo, and mustard and one of peanut butter and honey. My original plan was for 500 calories for lunch, but as I’m calculating this, I believe I’ve gone way over.

Description Servings Weight (g) Calories (tot) Calories (serv)
Flatbread 2 180 520 260
Sausage 3 180 600 200
Peanut Butter 1 50 250  
Honey 2 42 120 60
Gu Gel 2 66 200  
Hershey Bar 1 44 210  
Hot Tamales 2 56 224  
Condiments   18  

It looks like one flatbread, 1/3 of the sausage, peanut butter, half of the honey, and the Hershey Bar are about 900 calories. Well, I guess that’s why I’m trying it out before the trip. We’ll see. That package weighs 646 grams altogether. For us Imperial UoM luddites, that’s 22.8 ounces or 1.4 pounds.

Here’s the rest of the gear I’m carrying for this hike. All goes according to plan, I won’t need any of it. I’m just carrying this for a realistic load.

Thunderhead Gear

Thunderhead Gear

From top to bottom and left to right…

  • Tent Poles
  • Rainfly and stakes
  • Tent
  • Sleeping bag
  • Sleeping pad
  • Alcohol
  • Stove and pots
  • First-aid
  • Small gear bag
  • Rain jacket
  • Food bag
  • Camelback 100oz reservoir (not shown)

Next stop, Rocky Top and Thunderhead. See you on the other side.

This entry was posted in Backpacking, Camping Equipment, Food, GCBT, Packing, Training, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

