2015 Bike Tour Leg 1 Route – New Orleans to Baton Rouge

To get started on this route, I located some advice on BikeForums.net here and here and solicited additional advice herehere, here, and here. Based on that information, I created the first version of my route.

Click on the snapshot to open this route in RideWithGPS

Click on the snapshot to open this route in RideWithGPS

Being an SEC Football fan, I can’t go into Baton Rouge without visiting LSU’s Tiger Stadium so, if you’ll zoom into Baton Rouge, you’ll see that this route is designed to drop me at the front gate.

But then I found this post on Crazy Guy on a Bike (CGAB) authored by someone who sounds very knowledgeable about the area and it caused me to change my route  to track west at Gonzales onto Highway 30, which is more of a straight shot into LSU anyway.

Click on the snapshot to open this route in RideWithGPS

Click on the snapshot to open this route in RideWithGPS

I gave some consideration to taking the Mississippi River Trail all the way from New Orleans to Baton Rouge, but it adds 40 miles and the post on CGAB cinched it for me. I’ll get about 30 miles of it leaving New Orleans.

While I’ve labeled this “Leg 1” this may not be the equal to “Day 1” as I’ve not yet decided where I want to stop. This route is 95 miles and, looking ahead, the next leg to Natchez looks to be about 125-135 miles. I just don’t know if I want to try to hammer out 230 miles in two days fully loaded. Besides, the post on CGAB suggests that there is no camping to be found in Baton Rouge so it might be better to stop in Gonzales on Day 1 and turn this into three days of 75 miles somehow. I guess I’ve got more studying to do to see what camping locations I can find.

This entry was posted in 3NBT and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

