BRAG Day 3

Day 3 of BRAG was listed as 64 miles and a little over 2600 feet of climbing from Milledgeville, GA to Dublin, GA.


As you can see from the elevation profile, all the the hills were in the first half of the course. None of the climbs were particularly high in elevation, but some of them were several miles long.

We did. Have one scare early in the course. We were coming down a steep hill and there were several places where “Extreme Caution” was painted on the road right before some ugly potholes. Ok. It wasn’t hard to avoid those potholes, but what we didn’t know was that the bottom of the hill was loose gravel and terrible potholes for about 15 yards across the entire roadway. By the time I realized it, I was into the gravel and could not hit my brakes hard. I wasn’t coming way hot right behind a woman who had managed to slow more than me and she could here me bearing down so she ended up nearing going off the road to get out of my way. That incident scared everyone, but no one went down.


We stuck in a couple of groups for the first half of the ride and, once again, came apart near the end. Once we get near the end of the day, I start thinking about getting a good spot for the team in the indoor camping venue so I struck out hammering to get to the venue. I arrive quite a bit before any of the others and immediately claimed a large rectangle in the park gym. (Stubbs, Park in Dublin, GA.) I then started looking for mine and the others’ bags. Every day, a tractor trailer parks with the bags and someone had set them all out on the pavement outside the gym. Once I got about three bags in the gym, I heard rumor of another indoors camping venue at the First Baptist Church Activity Center. I tracked down the rumor with the organizers and then had a quarter mile hike with my heavy duffle to the second venue. After grabbing a spot for the team, I ran back down to bring the rest of the team up. By the time I got there, they were loaded up on a mule with a trailer and we shortly set up camp.

Team dinner was at a very good restaurant call Supply Company. I had a Cajun dish that was shrimp and blackened pork in a roux on cheese grits. Right up my alley.

Most of the team went to an outdoor viewing of Zootopia, but I was in bed by 9:30.

Not much to report yet again since the ride have been very well organized other than the gravel scare early in the route. More later from BRAG 2016.

This entry was posted in Bicycle Touring, BRAG2016, Touring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

